New Jersey DUI Penalties – What am I Facing?
New Jersey DUI Penalties
When police arrest you for DUI, you might feel like your life is over. But DUI lawyer Jordan Rickards can help.
Driving Under the Influence (DUI) is a very serious offense in New Jersey.
The penalties you face will depend on whether this is your first, second, or third offense, as well as your age. Read on to learn more.
You’re facing a range of punishments after an arrest.
These include fines, fees, jail time, restricted driving privileges, and more.
Drivers aged 21 and older have committed a DUI if their blood alcohol concentration (BAC) is .08% or higher. The penalties for a first offense are:
- License suspension. A 3-month suspension if you submitted to a chemical test and had a BAC of .10% or less. Otherwise, the State will suspend your license for up to a year.
- Jail. Up to 30 days in jail.
- Fines. You will need to pay any fines and fees, which will total around $4,000.
- Classes. You will need to undergo an alcohol assessment and a driving awareness program.
- Ignition interlock device (IID). A first offender might need to install an IID on their vehicle for 6-12 months. If your BAC was .15% or greater, then you will have to install an IID.
The penalties are steeper for a second offense:
- License suspension. A two-year suspension.
- Jail. A minimum of 48 hours up to 90 days. The court cannot suspend the minimum 32 days in jail.
- Fines and fees. You are looking at around $4,500 all in.
- Community service. You must perform 30 days of community service.
- Classes. You must undergo an alcohol assessment and a driving awareness program.
- Ignition interlock device. You will have an IID on your vehicle during your license suspension period and for another 1-3 years.
Unsurprisingly, penalties continue to escalate if you’re facing a third DUI arrest. You face the following:
- License suspension. A 10-year suspension for a third offense.
- Jail. A minimum of 180 days in jail, of which 90 is mandatory. The other 90 can be in a drug rehab program.
- Fines and fees. All in, you are looking to pay around $6,000.
- Community service. You will need to perform 90 days of community service.
- Classes. You must complete an alcohol assessment and driving awareness program.
- Ignition interlock device. An IID will be on your vehicle for the entire suspension period and for another 1-3 years.
Drivers under the Age of 21
It is illegal to drink in New Jersey before your 21st birthday, so any BAC will qualify as a DUI. You face the following punishments:
- First offense: Suspended license for 30-90 days, and you might need to perform community service for 15-30 days.
- Second or subsequent offense: The Motor Vehicle Commission revokes your license for a period they determine.
If your BAC is .08% or higher when police arrest you, then you will face the same punishments as adults (listed above).
Speak with a New Jersey DUI Lawyer
Drunk driving is a serious problem in New Jersey, and state prosecutors will throw the book at you. If this is your first or subsequent offense, you need an experienced DUI lawyer by your side. The Law Office of Jordan B. Rickards can help. Contact us today for a free consultation.