New Jersey Marijuana Laws
Like most states in the Union, New Jersey is seeing a major overhaul of drug laws. Many of the changes have to do with marijuana. Marijuana is no longer being called “the gateway drug” by lawmakers everywhere, but rather, more and more regulatory agencies are citing it as a cure—a cure for pain, mental disorders, multiple sclerosis, anorexia, and many more conditions that we once thought were unmanageable.
Because of this, state lawmakers have to reconsider their stance on the substance. At The Law Office of Jordan B. Rickards, Esq., our drug crimes attorney want to ensure that you understand your rights in the face of a drug crimes charge. Part of knowing your rights entails knowing the law.
Marijuana Possession Laws You Need to Know
You can find New Jersey’s marijuana laws under codes 24:21-1, et seq. and 2C:35-2, et seq. In general, laws pertaining to cannabis are much more lenient than other, more dangerous and addictive substances such as cocaine, heroin, and methamphetamine. As of right now, weed is only legal with a doctor’s prescription.
Anyone with a medicinal marijuana card and who buys from a state-regulated dispensary can carry up to two ounces. However, anyone who possesses that same amount but who does not have a medical marijuana card may be charged with a disorderly person and sentenced to six months in jail and a $1,000 maximum fine.
Any person who possesses more than 50 grams becomes charged with a crime. If convicted, they face up to a year and a half in prison and a maximum fine of $25,000. This is the case even if the person has a medical marijuana card.
Marijuana Distribution and Cultivation Laws
Distribution is entirely different than mere possession. For instance, a person found with marijuana with the intent to sell faces jail time and fines. For a person who has less than one ounce and an intent to distribute faces up to 18 months in jail and a $25,000 fine.
A person in possession of one ounce and five pounds becomes charged with a crime. If convicted, he or she faces between three and five years in prison and a $25,000 fine. Prison time increases to as much as 10 to 20 years in prison and up to $300,000 in fines. Anyone who found with any amount of marijuana within 1,000 feet of a school and intent to distribute may receive three to five years in prison and up to $150,000 in fines.
Cultivation is also a serious crime in New Jersey. If a person cultivating weed without a license risks between three and twenty years in prison. Also, faces between $25,000 and $300,000 in fines, depending on the amount of cannabis found on a single property.
Distribution and cultivation also laws apply to individuals who have their medical marijuana laws.
When to Contact a New Jersey Drug Crimes Attorney
If caught with possession of marijuana in New Jersey and charged with possession, distribution, or cultivation, you need to keep the help of a New Jersey drug crimes lawyer. The attorneys at The Law Office of Jordan B. Rickards, Esq., can help you understand your rights under New Jersey law and ensure that your future is not affected by an erroneous charge.
Schedule a confidential review of your case today by calling our Milltown office. We also represent clients throughout Central New Jersey, including in New Brunswick, East Brunswick, Edison, Woodbridge, Piscataway, Bridgewater, and Middletown.